Tuesday, August 16, 2011

How to clear the 'Save my Password' checkbox in the Lync Client

I was asked by a reader how to clear the "Save my password" checkbox in the Lync 2010 client recently.  Turns out that this not quite a trivial thing to do.

The first time a user signs into Lync from a computer they have the option to click Save my password, as shown below:


If the user clicks the checkbox and signs in succesfully, the Lync server will generate a digital certificate for the user to store in their personal store.  That certificate is used for future authentication attempts from the Lync client without having to supply a password, and the Save my password checkbox is not displayed again.

This article explains how to get the Save my password check box back.  You may want to do this if a user clicked the check box on a public computer, for example.

There are two things that control the appearance of the Save my password check box:
  • The SavedPassword DWORD value in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Communicator registry key exists and is set to 1
  • There is a Lync user certificate in the user's personal store that matches the user's SIP address

Both the registry value and the user certificate need to be deleted to return the Show my password check box.  The following two commands will delete these items when run from an elevated command prompt on the affected computer:

reg add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Communicator /v SavePassword /d 0 /f
certutil -delstore -user my sipaddress

For example,


Now run the Lync client and you will see the Save my password check box again. 3:39 PM